Tags

,

I should be a travel agent. I can’t help myself–I’m a planner. And when you couple that with a dreamer in the same person, I tend to get a big high out of making plans. I also get a big high out of doing things I’ve never done before, whether it’s traveling to a new country, or going to the Greek Orthodox Church Fair. Secretly, I think it drives Jesse crazy. But whatever. (Secretly, I know I would be a terrible travel agent, because I would get bitter that other people are going on trips instead of me.)
.
So I got a really big high this week when I made myself a road trip itinerary. I won’t be able to go on this road trip for at least another year (I’m saving up all my vacation days!), but if I don’t dream and plan I do believe I will shrivel up. Thus, behold my road trip:
.
This is a 7-day road trip starting in Portland. Probably in the summer sometime, for better scenery and camping comfort.
.
Day 1: Leave Portland and drive south to Crater Lake, OR. This takes 5 hours according to Google Maps, so that’s plenty of time to set up camp and relax after arriving.
.
Day 2: Explore Crater Lake. I’ve always wanted to go here, especially since reading The Ancient One by TA Barron in middle school.  (Side note: the book is actually set in a crater in southern Oregon, so there’s no reason for me to think it’s Crater Lake, especially since Crater Lake is filled with water and not trees, but I’ve always connected them anyway.)
,
Besides the book, Crater Lake must be seen because it’s one of the deepest lakes in the world, the water is an amazing blue color since it has no inlets or tributaries, the crater is from a volcano, and it has a tree stump called the “Old Man of the Lake” that’s been floating in the water since at least 1896.
If you’ve been to Crater Lake and are about to tell me that it’s not one of the most amazing things you’ve ever seen, don’t. I won’t believe you anyway.
.
Day 3/4: Head south to Crescent City, in Northern California. About 4 hours. I like to leave some flexibilty in my plans, so we’ll just see how long we want to spend at Crater Lake, and leave accordingly.
.
Day 4-6: Crescent City and Redwood National Park. I’ve seen some redwoods outside of San Francisco, but I’ve never been to the true-blue Redwood Forest. This is where they filmed the Endor scenes from Return of the Jedi, so that pretty much sums it up right there. I’ll leave us plenty of time here for hiking, camping, and exploring, and attempting to wrap our arms around trees.

Redwood Forest, or, Endor

.
Day 6: Leave our friends the Redwoods and head north along the coast, on Highway 101. I have no idea what’s there besides windy, wet views, so we’ll just toodle our way up, stop when we want, and try to reach Florence, OR. 4 hours.
.
Day 7: Head home to Portland! We can either keep going on the coast, stop by Tillamook for cheese curds, or just skip over to I-5 and speed home. We’ll be dirty from camping with our heads spinning with giant trees and crashing waves, but it’ll all be so, so worth it.
.
What an epic trip! Even though I can’t go on it until I gain back all the vacation time I’m saving up, it makes me happy just knowing the possibility is there. We’ll go someday. Who wants to come?
