Tags

It smelled like heaven last night. If heaven were drenched in Peach Rum Sauce. (I hope it is.)
.
One box of peaches has been peeled, cut, and transformed into 9 jars of Peach Salsa, and 8 jars of Peach Rum Sauce, all sitting happily on our dining room table. It was exhausting, hot work, causing my feet to hurt and my fingers to turn pruney, but the results are totally worth it. They are meant to be gifts this winter, but I’m not really sure I want to part with all of them! Maybe people will be happy with a nice card instead? “I made you Peach Rum Sauce…and it was delicious. Happy Holidays.”
But, we still have 30 lbs of pears and apples to can so I don’t think we can physically afford to keep all of it. As delicious as it is, it must be given away!
.

All the little jars, cooling

Ah, domesticity. I can’t explain it, but in the last few years I’ve become enamored with all things domestic. Cooking, baking, sewing, gardening, canning…what is with me? No, I don’t want to buy house and have a baby. I just want to make dresses, bake, and can things.
.
I think it’s the pioneer, do-it-yourself feeling. The knowledge that I don’t have to buy something from the store, because I can produce it myself. I get such a kick out of that! I love that I can make my own marshmallows! I love that I can sew a shirt, and actually get some compliments on it. It doesn’t really save us money. It certainly doesn’t save time. It doesn’t always produce better quality.
.
But I really don’t care about most of that. I just love knowing “I did this.” It’s a way to impart a small amount of beauty and order to chaos, to watch a loaf of bread rise.
.
And, it satisfies my curiosity. So that’s where black beans come from… that’s how jam works…that’s what makes spaghetti sauce taste good. And that’s how you turn boxes of fresh fruit in September into January’s breakfast jam.
.
So, here’s to tired feet, curiosity, pioneers, and a lot of yummy canned products!
