Tags

,

It rained this weekend. It rained like it has a lot to make up for, which it really doesn’t since we had a short summer this year. All the same, I kind of like it.
.
No, I’m not ready to hunker down quite yet, and no, I’m not enjoying the darker mornings. But I am enjoying the smell of rain, and the apple cider in our fridge. Pears. The color orange. The steady, dribbling noise. Soup. Fresh bread. People sitting in coffeehouses looking out the window.
.
Life slows down when it rains.
.
It has to do with the need to be inside, share warmth, be cozy with one another. Inclement weather forces you into community, be it a huddle of people temporarily avoiding the drizzle under a shop awning, or an impromptu dinner party because your soup recipe is overflowing the pot.
.
And what better way to be in community together than being wrapped in a cozy quilt? Okay, well, maybe you’ll want to be a little pickier with that community.
.

Quilting Squares, all ready to go

.

All the squares are cut out, and ready to go. The next part is where I enter unknown territory, though, so I’m a little nervous. Let’s hope all this rain keeps me focused!
.
Coming soon: pictures of sewing projects! I finished a shirt, a skirt, and am so close to a dress. They’re coming. Promise.
