Tags

, ,

This post is long overdue, and requires reader participation, beacuse these pictures are not what they’re meant to be. They had so much potential for cascades of falling leaves, sunshine, an autumnal jaunt through Laurelhurst Park–can you picture it all? If you could just use your imagination to add all those elements to these sad, anemic pictures, that would be great.
.
I finished this dress while ago, and had grand visions to take beautiful photographs of it in action, frolicking in the leafy autumn colors. Then, then, then….stuff happened. It rained. Schedules got busy. And to top it all off, I got sick on the last sunny week of the year. The weather was beautiful, the sun was beaming, the leaves were falling…but the dress stayed heaped on a chair, because I stayed heaped on the couch. Now that I’m upright again, fall has become wet and gray, and I’m afraid my chance for the perfect photograph is gone. So, again… please use the photoshop in your mind.
.
I call this the Indian Summer Dress–it’s the perfect attire for the previously described crisp, sunny fall day. I used the Sabrina jumper pattern from Burda Style, but because I always seem to forget how tall I am, I had to add a large hem to the bottom. Cut diagonally on the bias, though, I really like what it adds. Okay, I admit–that part was Jesse’s idea. He’s got style.
.
I got the fabric from Hawthorne Vintage, and unfortunately I have no idea what it is. It’s thick, almost like it was made for curtains or a tablecloth. Now it’s a dress! Over a shirt, leggings, and boots, this will be a great pop of color in winter. I think I need red cowboy boots for it.
.
I’m relieved I finally finished it, because I’ve given myself about twelve projects to do over the holidays. And I keep adding more–maybe I should stop? I’ve got a Halloween costume to finish up, a Thanksgiving gift to myself, Christmas presents for a few others, and a special project that doesn’t fit in any of those categories. But I’m already well on my way for several of them, so I think I’m good. I’m branching out into general craft categories here, feeling a little like Martha. Yikes. Say what you will, but that woman has crafted an impeccable handmade style. That’s a lot to live up to.
.
While I might not have the perfect magazine-photograph of my projects, I guess what’s important is that I actually like them, and will use them. Because really, what’s the point of making something if you’re only going to take pictures of it? I’m trying to convince myself here, because I really am disappointed that my perfect fall photoshoot didn’t work out. But you just can’t post an Indian Summer dress in November; I think there’s a cut-off time, and it’s about now.
But it’s still a great dress.
UPDATE: They’re not frolicking in the leaves, but they are new and improved pictures! Mallary of SharpShooterPics took these beauties. Thanks, Mallary!

