Tags

, ,

Two weeks ago I powered through some small quilts for my sister-in-law’s Baby Shower. I had bought the fabric and sketched out the idea of them sometime before Christmas, so the actual construction went pretty fast. Especially with my new rotary cutter and cutting mat! I love those things! They swoop through fabric so cleanly that I just want to cut everything around me.

I finished the first one just in time to bring it to S.’s Baby Shower, where it was added to her giant pile of gifts. I never thought about how much stuff two babies would demand! The second quilt I finished later that week, and she’ll get it this weekend. 

These are my first actual quilts, but my Thanksgiving Table Runner is constructed just like a quilt, so I learned all the techniques on that one.  I think that’s another reason these little ones went so fast. They are roughly a yard each, all out of coordinating fabrics from the Moda City Weekend print, designed by Liesl Gibbon of Oliver + S. (You might recognize some from the Baby Bibs I made for Christmas. Same fabric!) I’m really happy with how they turned out:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really love the bright, bold colors in these– I’ve never been a huge fan of pastel pink or blue for babies, but that’s just me.

These are inspired by the Play Quilt from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby, which I ran out and bought as soon as I know S. was pregnant. She suggests a small, washable quilt for throwing on the ground when Baby is sitting, rolling, and playing, and gives a couple of layout ideas with room for change. I just bought a few coordinating prints with the idea that the bold branches would be the main focal point of each. I quilted them following the print’s lines–for example, a vertical line on the stripe print, circles on the spot print, and I followed the branches for those prints. I really like how it came out, a little quirky and off.

I made two, of course, because two rolling babies can’t share one tiny quilt. This gives them maximum space for playing, and when one quilt gets puked on, there’s a backup. I probably should have made six more, actually… She’s due in March, so I have a little bit of time left, and I’m eyeing a few more projects from the book. I think a Giraffe Rattle is definitely called for!

