Tags

, ,

We are firmly in February now, which means one thing to me: Valentine’s Day is coming. A lot of people don’t like Valentine’s Day. That’s fine. You don’t have to read this, or suffer through red hearts plastered everywhere. But for those that find declarations of love (not neccessarily of the romantic kind) pleasing, read on!

I got a set of new colored pencils yesterday (oh the possibilities!), and immediately drew a heart banner. Because what is more festive than drawing a lot of hearts? If it were up to me, I would string a banner or pendants up for every holiday that comes along. Nothing reminds you to celebrate (and we all need more celebrating) like a good banner! And cookies.

I don’t have a banner planned this year past the colored kind, but I am working on this (which I started much too late):

This is meant to be a table runner. I don’t think I’m going to finish it in time, although I am a bit further along than when I took this photo.

This project is inspired from Embroidery Companion, by Alicia Paulson, which I got for Christmas. In the book it’s actually a square Blackwork Sampler, meant to hang on the wall. But as we don’t need more wall art, I thought maybe a table runner in a cheery red and white would be a nice addition, so I started in on that. I dearly love embroidery, but sheesh does it take a long time. This might have to be a 4th of July table runner. Christmas 2011? I could aim for that.

Either way, the bright red thread set against the austere white is getting me in the mood for V-day! Stay tuned next week for more hearts’n’chocolate topics, but for now, check out Aesthetic Outbursts’s 20 Valentine’s in 20 Days. This is so brilliant! I don’t think I could keep up.

Have a great weekend!

