Tags

,

My recent forays into quilting have piqued my curiousity enough to do a little more research on it. I checked out some books from the library, did some google image and blog browsing, and bought a nice-looking book to practice with.

I am now armed with previously unknown quilting terms like block, scant 1/4 inch seam allowance, fat quarter, jelly roll, chain piecing, English paper piecing, and more. (You can find great descriptions of all of these here.) Who knew there was so much! Well, yes, I did, and that’s why I’ve avoided it so far.

Dotty for Dresden Quilt, from Material Obsession 2

But I have a plan. I’d like to make a big quilt for our queen-size bed: ambitious, I know, but I’ve had so much sewing energy lately that I think I can power through it. I really want to do a Dresden Plate quilt, like the picture. This is an advanced pattern, if you couldn’t tell by looking it it. It involves cutting the wedges carefully, fitting them together to form a perfect circle, then hand-sewing them to the backing fabric. I know, I know, you’re probably throwing up right now. But I’m in love with that design, and I’m in love with the idea of putting so much time and love into something I can snuggle under forever!

Going from baby quilts to that is a big jump, so my plan was to do a slightly larger “practice” quilt before attacking the Dresden Plate quilt. Way back in October I cut out these 9” squares for a simple patchwork design.

Since then, they’ve languished. And now that I’m coming back to them, the colors seem all wrong, and nothing goes together, and I’m not sure if I like it at all anymore. I chose these fabrics in September, so is it possible that I was thinking “Autumn” and now I’m not? Spontanesouly, I bought a bright green print yesterday, took it home, and found that it doesn’t match with anything and I have no idea what to do with it. I’m not even sure I like that color of green anymore. I’ve never been so flummoxed by colors before.

I had even picked out about 16 fabrics online for the Dresden Quilt, but Color Doubt has crept into that, as well, and I’ve cut out half the choices I was certain about a week ago. Oh, dear. What is wrong with me?

There is a hint of hope, however. I helped my friend Sarah achieve her goal of something crafty (baby bibs and the cutest hooded towel), and her thank-you was the leftover fabric I’d been oo-ing over.

I like this print, no matter what my Color Doubt may say. I think, for now, I will ignore the piles of fabric I’m not inspired by and focus on these colors. Red and turquoise. They work. Something good can come out of this, I’m sure.

