Tags

,

First, thank you so much for all the kind words about my quilt! I really do like it. Sometimes I worry that this blog gives off a veneer of perfection or something close to it. I intentionally keep it upbeat and positive, and I don’t talk about the bum parts of life other than sick days and dreary weather, though we all know that life has a way of throwing much more at us. Blogging, by nature, is kind of show-offy, and I’ve found it’s sometimes hard to strike a good balance.

So, thanks for letting me show off.  I manage to muddle my way through these projects, and when you look at them from far away on tiny pictures they might look amazing–in real life I promise that they’re slightly less so. Pretty average, really, when you take into account my uneven seams and pieces that don’t match up. I’m not trying to be annoyingly humble, I just want to be real. And honestly, if I can sew, you can too, I promise.

Okay, I just had to get that off my chest. Thanks. Back to the clothes.

Me Made May: Day 17

Today, it happened. Tuesday morning I woke up, and immediately dreaded getting dressed because I knew I had nothing, and I was tired of this. Who’s dumb idea was this? I felt uninspired. My other, cuter clothes stared longingly at me from their hangers. Sigh. How much longer? 2 more weeks you say? Another sigh. I ended up re-wearing my pink blouse, which looked fine, even though I felt like I’d just worn it a few days ago. I didn’t even take a picture.

When I got home, I changed to this:

Bad lighting and goofy face: my apologies

This is a shirt that got too small for Jesse, and I thought I could easily make it fit me so I hacked away. Now it doesn’t button (of course!). But it looks fine if I leave the top buttons open, so I’ll just ignore that little failure. Must. Learn. To. Measure.

Me Made May: Day 18

I pulled out the big guns today and went fancy, in this purple chiffon dress. It’s a little too fluffy and short for work, but I know I won’t have another chance to wear it this month so I’m just going for it. I feel like I’m on a date at work! It’ll look really great when I go to Costco tonight, too.

I think I’m going to have to buckle down and get serious here–actually find some new combinations and be inventive. It’s the only way I’ll make it through! I’m calling this the hump, and I’m determined to get through it, because it’s all downhill from here. The last 5 days of May I’ll be on vacation in Colorado, so anything I wear is 10 times better automatically, because I’m on vacation. I can do this.

Two weeks left!

