Tags

,

It’s time this blog takes itself to Prague, Czech Republic, our first stop on this European Adventure. I have to admit that I’ve been avoiding it a little. Prague means so much to me, and I love it so, that I’m afraid my little words and pictures won’t do it justice.

I know many girl’s dreams center around Paris, but if I had to pick a favorite, I would choose Prague. It’s a beautiful old gem of a city, encrusted in Art Nouveau and crumbling facades, it’s streets teeming with stories of golems and rabbis, kings and Communists, alchemists and saints.

The huge city full of busy modern life that is Paris exhausts me sometimes, but I find Prague to be the perfect size, wrapped snug around the Vltava river. In the late summer sunshine the water sparkles, the beer hits the perfect note of hops and malt, and the small streets with big cobblestones wind their way to the next discovery.

A street in the Castle District

Praha (Prague) means ‘threshold’ in Czech, and at risk of being too literal, that’s exactly what it was for me. I taught English there for six months after college, and it served as a bridge from college to the real world, from dating to marriage, from good friendships to more, better ones. There were some dark nights, but going back to Prague on this trip reminded me even more why I love it so.

Like Paris, I’m going to dedicate a few posts to Prague and the surrounding towns we visited so stick around for awhile! Hopefully I can convince you, too, that Czech Republic is worth a visit. Or a few months.

