Tags

, ,

There were two places in Leiden that I loved in particular. Both were perfect to wander around in, making me feel like I’d found hidden treasures.
One was an antique store near the castle. The front room was small and cramped, but the shopkeeper motioned us back and told us to keep exploring, so we walked through a narrow hallway, two more rooms, a garden, and another room, all full of lost, forgotten, and beautiful items.

A shelf of old plates

The Secret Garden

Old drawings on a desk

The other treasure was the Hortus Botanicus, Leiden University’s botanical gardens founded in 1590. Stretching along a canal, the gardens and greenhouses are a peaceful little refuge of green. It’s not quite a secret garden, but there are plenty of treasures to be found.

Pitcher Plants

It's unnerving to walk through an entire room of carnivorous plants.

Giant lily pads

A little cactus friend

Thanks for reading all week about our explorations! I will try to show more of Amsterdam, I promise. The weather is still sunny and beautiful, so I’ve been outside as much as I can saving it up for a rainy day. I’ve updated my links on the left to include some lovely blogs from Amsterdam, so check those out if you’re interested.

Our weekend plans include more enjoying the sunshine and perhaps a long bike ride. Hope yours is wonderful, too!

