Tags

I finished this weeks ago, but kept forgetting to take a picture of it. This is the ABC Daisychain Crewel Work Sampler from Posie Gets Cozy. I believe the whole kits are sold out, but you can order the pdf pattern here.

I loved doing this. I’ve never done crewel work before–that’s normal stitches but in a fuzzy, thick wool instead of regular embroidery floss. The texture is amazing, I loved to run my fingers along all the edges while I was making this. And I even learned a few new stitches! It gave me enough confidence to start a bigger crewel work piece, but it’s super secret. Shh.

I was going to frame it all pretty, but whaddya know, European frame sizes are different, and and 11×14 was nowhere to be found (yes, I converted to cm before looking.) So instead of getting it custom-framed, I did a running stitch around the edge and pinned it right to my wall. Easy enough!

I’ve been doing a lot of embroidery lately, and not much else. Which, despite a few feelings of guilt for not making any money, has been pretty nice. The only drawback is the amount of time I have to think about my next project… it’s a scary circle. But there are so many inspiring things to get me going! Have you seen Jillian Tamaki’s embroidered covers for Penguin Classics? Just beautiful.

