Tags

, , ,

In my last post I mentioned all the Made by Hand stores in Amsterdam–now it’s time to update a few of my own made by hand crafts!

First off, I finished this embroidered pillowcase I’ve been working on forever:

It shows up in my trusty Embroidery Companion book as the Karin curtain design, but I bought a plain pillowcase from Ikea to use instead. I am in love with the Scandinavian feel of this, and the cheery red with the stoical partridges (I’m guessing they’re partridges. What do you think?). I might fill in the middle with more designs, but I’m going to take a break from this for awhile first.

Next on my list is a Dresden Plate quilt that I promised myself I’d make here. I had all the pieces cut out in Portland, I sewed the front blocks and the entire back together. Now I need to applique the Dresden Plates to the front, and then quilt it. By hand. I’m beginning to think this was way too ambitious, and I was most likely out of my mind when I thought this was a great idea. But I’m determined to do this, so I’m doggedly sewing. Truth is, I love the repetitive, mindless work while we’re watching tv (my friend got me hooked on BBC’s Gavin & Stacey). Here’s the work-in-progress, draped over a chair. I still love the fabrics I chose, and I just keep thinking how cozy this will be when it’s done! Happy thoughts…

The last project isn’t mine at all, but Jesse’s. He’s decided to pick up a new hobby, settled on knitting the past few weeks, and has been knocking it out of the park since then. He’s already finished two things! He’s also spouting knowledge about purling, decreasing, dropped stitches, and what a yarn’s ‘loft’ and ‘wpi’ mean.

The first is this big scarf in a chunky gray wool, and the second is a maroon cowl in soft fluffy wool. I am thrilled by this new hobby, and have already created a small list of items that I would enjoy wearing if he were so kind as to make them. Don’t tell him I said this, but he’s so cute when he does something like this.He gets a really concentrate-y look on his face, and he will rip something out and re-do it three times to make sure it’s to his specifications. It’s worked out well so far.

So, if anyone is in the market for a new scarf or hat, Jesse is working through projects like wildfire and needs some commissions. You can find him on Ravelry here. If you need a new quilt (and would like it in the next 10 years) you’re out of luck. Make it yourself. And not by hand.

