Tags

, , ,

The train from Rotterdam-Amsterdam passes right through Delft, among other towns, so we thought it was a perfect opportunity to jump off and explore a bit. Delft is famous for being the birthplace of Vermeer, and for the eponymous blue-and-white painted pottery that’s so typically Dutch.

It was a good plan. Unfortunately the weather disagreed, and sent buckets of rain along with umbrella-inverting wind. We ate lunch, saw some cute shops, visited a city museum where William of Orange was murdered, and stood in the wet, windy square, then gave up and got back on the train.

I was cursed to have closed eyes in at least 4 pictures this trip. This one is still cute, though!

The city is full of Delftware shops, and a factory (which was closed), selling the famous porcelain. A lot of them are tacky souvenir shops with mass-produced wares, but many are real antique stores, charging real euros for each piece. These things are an investment! You could spend a whole week researching the history of Delftware, and what makes it antique/real, and how much it’s worth. I haven’t, so all I can say is, it’s pretty. And expensive. And I’m kind of lusting after some of it.

The obvious and easiest thing to get is a Delft tile. Dutch kitchens used to be covered in these, all hand-painted with different scenes, dating from the 1600s. I’m in love with these, but I’m trying to be smart. What would I do with it? Would it survive traveling without breaking? Would I need a set to really make it worthwhile? Such hard questions! In the meantime, I took some pictures I can admire.

The (steep) price tag also dates this tile: 1630. Whew!

When the weather is kinder I’m hoping we can head back to Delft and enjoy it a bit more. Soak up some sunshine instead of rain. Maybe by then I will have come to a decision on the tiles…

