Tags

, ,

After two late nights and a painfully early flight, I made it back home from Lisbon yesterday. Now I’m re-learning to say “Dank u wel,” instead of “Obrigado.”

I loved Lisbon! I truly did. It was the perfect place for a ladies’ weekend out, full of quaint streets, cheap pastries, attractive Portuguese men (they admired us, we admired them… it was mutual), and plenty of cafes to soak up the spring sunshine. We almost decided to conveniently forget about our flight back. I have so many thoughts and pictures that it’s going to take me a few days to organize it all!

In the meantime, here are a few shots I took of particularly Lisbon-esque art in the streets. These tiles are called azulejos, and both the word and the technique come from the huge influence that Arabs had on the city. Entire buildings are covered in gorgeous patterns and murals, dating back to the 15th century.

We also spotted artwork that was a bit newer, but just as colorful. The old streets and crumbling walls of the city provide the perfect canvas for graffiti artists, and we found plenty of examples on our walk up to a castle. I love the juxtaposition of the old ruins with the modern, striking artwork.

My favorite was this little guy, who had friends saying hi all over the city. What cute little hamster! I suspect he only speaks Portuguese, but he sure was curious about us visitors.

Lisbon kind of snuck up on me, much like this little friend. I really didn’t know what to expect, and ended up being blown away by how much I loved it. I’m convinced to learn Portuguese and return regularly! I’ll get all my thoughts together and tell you why as soon as I can.

